Funding opportunities

By developing knowledge and supporting decision-making, the research community in Switzerland can directly influence our path to achieving the UN Sustainable Development Goals. But where can Swiss researchers potentially find funding for sustainability research? The following list aims to provide an overview of funding programmes that support research, innovation and academic training on sustainability-related themes:

Funding opportunities with a focus on research

Funding opportunities with a focus on application and implementation

Funding for knowledge transfer, knowledge exchange and science communication

Training and capacity building


International cooperation
Image: fotolia

Other websites offering overviews of funding programmes:

KFPE - the Commission for Research Partnerships with Developing Countries provides a list of funding opportunities related to international cooperation.

td-net - the Network for Transdisciplinary Research publishes news, calls and scholarships.

The Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) has summarised funding programmes related to environmental research and innovation.


Schweiz – Europa

Horizon Europe

Horizon Europe is the European Union’s 9th Framework Programme. It is the largest and most ambitious research programme worldwide, with 95 billion euros available from 2021-2027. Switzerland’s involvement in Horizon Europe as an associated state is likely, but has not yet been finalised. Further information on Swiss participation can be found on the website of the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation SERI.

In addition to investing in cutting-edge research and highly qualified workers, Horizon Europe will help in achieving the EU’s strategic priorities, such as implementing the Paris Climate Agreement and addressing other global challenges. The Horizon Europe programme is also guided by the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

For any information and advice concerning Horizon Europe, Swiss researchers can access the platform Euresearch.

As soon as specific calls for funding are published that are related to sustainability science, we will post them here.

Fördermöglichkeiten

Die Forschungs-Community der Schweiz spielt eine wichtige Rolle auf dem Weg zu einer nachhaltigeren Gesellschaft indem sie Wissen entwickelt und hiermit Entscheidungsträger unterstützt. Aber wo können Schweizer Forschende finanzielle Unterstützung für die Nachhaltigkeitsforschung finden? Die hier präsentierte Aufstellung gibt einen Überblick über Förderinstrumente die thematisch nah an einer Forschung zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung orientiert sind.

Forschungsfokussierte Programme

Anwendungsorientierte Programme

Wissenstransfer, -austausch und Dialog

Weiterbildung


International cooperation
Bild: fotolia

Weitere relevante Zusammenstellungen von Fördermöglichkeiten

Die Kommission für Forschungs­partner­schaften mit Entwicklungs­ländern (KFPE) unterhält einen Überblick über Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten in der Nord-Süd-Forschung.

Das Netzwerk für transdisziplinäre Forschung (td-net ) publiziert regelmässig Neuigkeiten und Ausschreibungen die in Zusammenhang mit inter- und transdisziplinärer Forschung stehen.

Das Bundesamt für Umwelt BAFU betreibt ein Portal zur Innovations- und Forschungslandschaft Schweiz für den Umweltbereich.


Schweiz – Europa

Horizon Europe

Horizon Europe ist das 9. Forschungsrahmenprogramm der Europäischen Union. Es ist das grösste und ambitionierteste Forschungsprogramm seiner Art weltweit, von 2021-2027 stehen 95 Milliarden Euro zur Verfügung. Die Teilnahme der Schweiz an Horizon Europe als «associated state» ist wahrscheinlich, aber noch nicht abschliessend entschieden. Weitere Informationen zur Schweizer Beteiligung werden auf der Seite des Staatssekretariats für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation publiziert.

Zusätzlich zu gezielten Investitionen in die Spitzenforschung und hochqualifizierte Arbeitskräfte, soll Horizon Europe auch dazu beitragen, die strategischen Prioritäten der EU voranzutreiben wie beispielsweise das Pariser Abkommen über den Klimawandel und die Bewältigung globaler Herausforderungen. Die Ausgestaltung von Horizon Europe orientiert sich zudem an den Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen («Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)»).

Schweizer Wissenschaftler können sich auf dem Portal www.euresearch.ch über Horizon Europe informieren und beraten lassen.

Sobald gezielte Ausschreibungen bekannt gemacht werden die sich mit Themen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung beschäftigen, werden wir versuchen, sie hier auf dieser Seite zu publizieren.