With the Sustainability Research Initiative, SCNAT, together with its sister institutions, promotes research on sustainable development and 2030 Agenda. It focuses on the joint handling of social issues of higher priority in overarching consortia.more

Image: OscarLoRo, stock.adobe.commore

Priority themes

We are identifying thematic priorities for science, oriented toward the need for action by society and the UN Agenda 2030 for sustainable development. These research priorities are supposed to provide researchers and research funders with inspiration and guidance for their work.

Priority Themes for Swiss Sustainability Research
Image: Hansjakob Fehr, 1kilo

Scientific contributions on transformations towards living together in equitable and sustainable ways do not simply consist of building knowledge on cause-effect relationships. They must deal with societal goals and value positions and illustrate how and by which means change can be brought about.

An agenda for sustainability research

Our work focuses on identifying cross-cutting societal priority topics that need to be set on the Swiss scientific agenda. We are developing them based on the UN Sustainable Development Goals and their mutual interdependencies. Working groups summarise the state of knowledge and formulate key questions for research.

The following six priority themes were identified:

Using these six priority themes, the "White Paper on Sustainability Research" outlines the most urgent research needs.It was launched by the steering group on 8 December 2020.

Watch the highlights and most important statements of the discussion round on the launch of the White Paper here in this short video:

Lancierung des White Papers "Priority Themes for Swiss Sustainability Research" - Die Highlights

Prioritäre Themen

Wir identifizieren thematische Schwerpunkte für die Wissenschaft, welche sich am gesellschaftlichen Handlungsbedarf und an der Agenda 2030 der Vereinten Nationen orientieren. Damit möchten wir Forscherinnen und Forschungsförderern Inspiration und Orientierung für ihre Arbeit bieten.

Priority Themes for Swiss Sustainability Research
Bild: Hansjakob Fehr, 1kilo

Wissenschaftliche Beiträge zur Transformation hin zu einem nachhaltigen und gerechten Zusammenleben bestehen nicht nur aus Wissen über Ursache-Wirkung-Beziehungen. Sie setzen sich auch mit gesellschaftlichen Zielen und Werthaltungen auseinander. Und sie zeigen Wege und Mittel auf, wie Veränderungen herbeigeführt werden können.

Eine Agenda für die Nachhaltigkeitsforschung

Im Fokus unserer Arbeit steht das Identifizieren prioritärer, übergreifender Themen, die aus gesellschaftlicher Sicht auf die wissenschaftliche Agenda der Schweiz gesetzt werden sollten. Wir entwickeln sie gemeinsam mit Akteuren aus Politik, öffentlicher Verwaltung, Wirtschaft, NGOs und Wissenschaft. Arbeitsgruppen arbeiten den Stand des Wissens auf und formulieren wichtige Forschungsfragen.

Die sechs identifizierten prioritäre Themen sind:

Das «Whitepaper Nachhaltigkeitsforschung» legt anhand dieser sechs prioritären Themen den dringensten Forschungsbedarf dar. Dieses wurde am 8. Dezember 2020 durch die Steuerungsgruppe lanciert.

Schauen Sie sich die Highlights und wichtigsten Aussagen der Diskussionsrunde zur Lancierung des Whitepapers hier in diesem kurzen Video an:

Lancierung des White Papers "Priority Themes for Swiss Sustainability Research" - Die Highlights

Kontakt

SCNAT
Steuerungsgruppe Nachhaltigkeitsforschung
Haus der Akademien
Postfach
3001 Bern

+41 31 306 93 28
E-Mail