Priority themes

We are identifying thematic priorities for science, oriented toward the need for action by society and the UN Agenda 2030 for sustainable development. These research priorities are supposed to provide researchers and research funders with inspiration and guidance for their work.

Priority Themes for Swiss Sustainability Research
Image: Hansjakob Fehr, 1kilo

Scientific contributions on transformations towards living together in equitable and sustainable ways do not simply consist of building knowledge on cause-effect relationships. They must deal with societal goals and value positions and illustrate how and by which means change can be brought about.

An agenda for sustainability research

Our work focuses on identifying cross-cutting societal priority topics that need to be set on the Swiss scientific agenda. We are developing them based on the UN Sustainable Development Goals and their mutual interdependencies. Working groups summarise the state of knowledge and formulate key questions for research.

The following six priority themes were identified:

Using these six priority themes, the "White Paper on Sustainability Research" outlines the most urgent research needs.It was launched by the steering group on 8 December 2020.

Watch the highlights and most important statements of the discussion round on the launch of the White Paper here in this short video:

Lancierung des White Papers "Priority Themes for Swiss Sustainability Research" - Die Highlights

Contact

SCNAT
Steering Committee Sustainability Research
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 28
E-mail

Avec l'initiative pour la recherche sur le développement durable, la SCNAT, avec ses institutions sœurs, promeut la science sur le développement durable et l’Agenda 2030. Elle accorde une attention particulière au traitement conjoint des questions socialement prioritaires dans les consortiums globaux.en plus

Image : OscarLoRo, stock.adobe.comen plus

Thèmes prioritaires

Axée sur la nécessité sociétale d'agir et sur l'Agenda 2030 des Nations Unies pour le développement durable, l’Initiative pour la recherche en développement durable identifie des domaines d'intérêt scientifique. Ainsi, nous fournissons aux chercheurs et aux organismes de financement de la recherche une inspiration et orientation pour leur travail.

Priority Themes for Swiss Sustainability Research
Image : Hansjakob Fehr, 1kilo

Les contributions scientifiques à la transformation vers une coexistence équitable et durable ne se limitent pas à l'acquisition de connaissances des relations de cause à effet. Ils traitent également des objectifs et des valeurs sociales. Et ils montrent des pistes et des moyens pour un changement.

Identification des thèmes pour la recherche en développement durable

Notre travail se concentre sur l'identification des questions prioritaires et primordiales qui devraient figurer aux affaires scientifiques de la Suisse d'un point de vue sociétal. Nous les développons avec des acteurs de la politique, de l'administraion publique, de l'économie, des ONG et de la science. Des groupes de travail examinent l'état des connaissances et formulent des questions de recherche importantes.

Les six thèmes prioritaires sont:

S'appuyant sur les six thèmes prioritaires, le "Livre blanc sur la recherche en développement durable" présente les besoins les plus urgents en matière de recherche. Celui-ci a été lancé par le groupe de pilotage le 8 décembre 2020.

Regardez les points forts et les déclarations les plus importantes du cycle de discussion sur le lancement du livre blanc dans cette courte vidéo :

Lancement du livre blanc "Priorities for Swiss Sustainability Research" - Les messages clés