With the Sustainability Research Initiative, SCNAT, together with its sister institutions, promotes research on sustainable development and 2030 Agenda. It focuses on the joint handling of social issues of higher priority in overarching consortia.more

Image: OscarLoRo, stock.adobe.commore

Steering Committee


Peter Edwards
Department of Environmental Systems Science
ETH Zurich

Elected Members

Claudia Binder
Laboratory for Human Environment Relations in Urban Systems
EPF Lausanne

Thomas Breu
Centre for Development and Environment (CDE)
University of Bern

Marc Chesney
Department of Banking and Finance
University of Zurich

Markus Fischer
Institute of Plant Sciences
University of Bern

Janet Hering
former Director
Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology

Heike Mayer
Geographisches Institut
Universität Bern

Stephan Pfister
Institut für Umweltingenieurwissenschaften
ETH Zürich

Christian Pohl
Transdisciplinarity Lab, Departement Umweltsystemwissenschaften
ETH Zürich

Jakob Zinsstag
Department of Epidemiology and Public Health
Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute (TPH) / University of Basel

Further Members

Marcel Tanner
Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences

Philippe Moreillon
Swiss Academy of Sciences

Bernard Lehmann
President Platform Science and Policy
Swiss Academy of Sciences

Jürg Pfister
Secretary General
Swiss Academy of Sciences

Markus Zuercher
Secretary General
Swiss Academy of Social Sciences and the Humanities

Karin Ammon
Head of Platform Science and Policy
Swiss Academy of Sciences

Fabian Kaeser
Head Commission for Research Partnerships with Developing Countries
Swiss Academy of Sciences

Eva Spehn
Project leader Swiss Biodiversity Forum
Swiss Academy of Sciences