Future Earth Switzerland

Future Earth is a global platform for international scientific collaboration. It provides knowledge and support for transformation towards sustainable development. The sustainability research initiative represents Future Earth at national level.

Future Earth Logo mit Bild

Future Earth is a ten-year programme, that launched in 2015. It emerged through merging the Global Change programmes «International Biodiversity Research Programme DIVERSITAS», «International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change IHDP» and «International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme IGBP». Future Earth pushes research and innovation for sustainable development at a global scale. Website of Future Earth

Future Earth Switzerland
We participate in developing and implementing Future Earth activities, by placing experts, supporting knowledge exchange and strengthening science for sustainable development in Switzerland.

To better engage with critical sustainability issues, Future Earth is creating a new governance structure. Peter Edwards and Janet Hering are representing Future Earth Switzerland in the General Assembly. Learn more

Switzerland hosts four international Future Earth programmes

Logo von Past Global Changes

Past Global Changes (Pages) coordinates research on past global environmental changes and its impact on human-environment interactions. This knowledge, amongst other priorities, serves to draft possible future developments of our climate and environment.


Logo gross Global Mountain Biodiversity Assessment GMBA
Image: GMBA

The Global Mountain Biodiversity Assessment (GMBA) is a platform for international and cross-disciplinary collaboration on the assessment, conservation, and sustainable management of mountain biodiversity.


Logo Global Land Program
Image: GLP

The Global Land Programme (GLP) brings together integrated science perspectives on the understanding of land systems. Its interdisciplinary approach aims at investigating interdependencies and feedbacks between human activities and land systems in the context of Global Change.


Logo bioDiscovery

bioDISCOVERY promotes interdisciplinary collaborative research on feedbacks between global change drivers, and the biodiversity, functioning and services of natural ecosystems.

Future Earth Schweiz

Future Earth ist eine globale Plattform für internationale wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit. Sie stellt Wissen und Unterstützung zur Transformation hin zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung bereit. Die Initiative für Nachhaltigkeitsforschung vertritt Future Earth auf nationaler Ebene.

Future Earth Logo mit Bild

Future Earth wurde 2015 lanciert und ist auf zehn Jahre angelegt. Es ging aus einem Zusammenschluss der Global-Change-Programme «International Biodiversity Research Programme DIVERSITAS», «International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change IHDP» und «International Geosphere-Biosphere Programme IGBP» hervor. Future Earth treibt die Forschung und Innovation für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung auf der globalen Ebene voran. Webseite von Future Earth

Future Earth Schweiz
Wir beteiligen uns an der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Future-Earth-Projekten, vermitteln Expertinnen und Experten, fördern den Wissensaustausch und stärken die Wissenschaft für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in der Schweiz.

Um sich drängenden Nachhaltigkeitsfragen besser widmen zu können, schafft Future Earth eine neue Governance Struktur. Peter Edwards und Janet Hering vertreten Future Earth Schweiz in der neu geschaffenen General Assembly. Mehr dazu

Die Schweiz beherbergt vier internationale Programme von Future Earth

Logo von Past Global Changes

Past Global Changes (Pages) koordiniert die Forschung zu vergangenen, globalen Umweltveränderungen und zu den entsprechenden Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen. Das Wissen dient unter anderem dazu, mögliche zukünftige Entwicklungen der Umwelt und des Klimas zu skizzieren.


Logo gross Global Mountain Biodiversity Assessment GMBA
Bild: GMBA

Das Global Mountain Biodiversity Assessment (GMBA) ist eine Plattform für internationale, disziplinübergreifende Zusammenarbeit, die Zustand, Schutz und nachhaltige Nutzung von Biodiversität in Berggebieten erfasst.


Logo Global Land Program
Bild: GLP

Das Global Land Programme (GLP) bringt integrative wissenschaftliche Perspektiven zum Verständnis von Landsystemen zusammen. Mit einem interdisziplinären Ansatz untersucht es die Wechselwirkungen und Rückkoppelungen zwischen menschlichen Aktivitäten und Landsystemen im Rahmen globaler Veränderungen.


Logo bioDiscovery

Biodiscovery fördert die interdisziplinäre Forschung, welche die Rückkopplungen untersucht, die zwischen den Ursachen globaler Umweltveränderungen und der Biodiversität, dem Funktionieren und den Dienstleistungen natürlicher Ökosysteme bestehen.